ICC Cricket News


Zimbabwe and West Indies Confirm Squads for ICC Champions Trophy

The Zimbabwe Cricket Union and the West Indies Cricket Board have announced their 14 man playing squads for next month’s ICC Champions Trophy tournament in Sri Lanka.

The tournament marks the start of Heath Streak’s second term as national captain, following confirmation from the ZCU that the 28 year old has been appointed captain for the 2002/2003 season. Streak, Zimbabwe’s leading pace bowler, will be supported by an experienced line up which includes the Flower brothers, Alistair Campbell, Henry Olonga, Guy Whittall and Stuart Carlisle.

The Full Zimbabwe Squad

  • Heath Streak, captain
  • Alistair Campbell
  • Stuart Carlisle
  • Dion Ebrahim
  • Andy Flower
  • Grant Flower
  • Travis Friend
  • Douglas Hondo
  • Stuart Irvine
  • Douglas Marillier
  • Mpumelelo Mbangwa
  • Henry Olonga
  • Tatenda Taibu
  • Guy Whittall

Babu Meman is the team manager, Amato Machikicho the physiotherapist and Malcolm Jarvis completes the squad as fitness trainer.

Hooper Leads Windies Campaign

Guyana batsman Carl Hooper will lead the West Indies team in Sri Lanka, with a squad based largely on the one that played in the 2002 Cable & Wireless Trophy limited-overs home series against India and New Zealand. Changes to that line up see Runako Morton replace Gareth Breese and Mahendra Nagamootoo return to limited-overs international duty.

The Full Squad Named by Sir Vivian Richards’ Selection Panel

  • Carl Hooper (captain)
  • Shivnarine Chanderpaul
  • Pedro Collins
  • Corey Collymore
  • Cameron Cuffy
  • Mervyn Dillon
  • Chris Gayle
  • Ryan Hinds
  • Wavell Hinds
  • Ridley Jacobs
  • Brian Lara
  • Runako Morton
  • Mahendra Nagamootoo
  • Ramnaresh Sarwan

The Windies have been named in Pool 3 for the tournament, along with South Africa and Kenya. They will open their programme against Sean Pollock’s side on Friday 13th September and complete the Pool stage fixtures against Kenya on Tuesday 17th.

Zimbabwe, in Pool 2, along with England and India, commence with a day/night game against India on 14th September. They then take on England, also under lights at the Premadasa Stadium, on Wednesday 18th.

Host nation Sri Lanka is expected to announce its squad for the ICC Champions Trophy early next week.

Source: ICC Media Release

ICC Champions Trophy Tournament Schedule

Feature Article - News Archive

Other Cricket News - Streaming Audio Report - Up-dated Daily

ICC News Archive Index

The Ashes Cricket Series. Australia v England - Bodyline and Sir Don Bradman



Abc of Cricket

Cricket Forum and Cricket Discussion BoardAbout Abc of Cricket and its Cricket StaffContact Abc of CricketAdvertise your Cricket Related products on Abc of Cricket


Abc of Cricket Site Log